Today I received a rather interesting email from a Chinese domain name registration company. The company wrote to me and claimed that "(company x)" had applied to register the Asian-pacific versions of the domain names to which I own the .com domain.
Specifically, I own
shockwave-sound.com and the claim was that (company x) had applied to register the domains shockwave-sound.cn, .com.cn, .asia., .hk.cn and .tw.cn. Additionally, they said, (company x) had also applied to register the "internet brand name"
shockwave-sound.
The email went on to say that, as the owner of
shockwave-sound.com, I had the right to "dispute" the attempted registrations by quickly registering these Asian-pacific domains myself. I could do this through this company, and that would effectively put a stop to (company x) being able to register these domains.
I answered back that I was obviously interested in protecting the Asian-pacific versions of my domain name and also this "internet brand name" which, I have to admit, I've never heard of before.
The Chinese domain registration company then sent me a registration form in which they are inviting me to register shockwave-sound.cn, .com.cn, .asia, .hk.cn, .tw.cn for $30 for 1 year, and also to register my "internet brand name" shockwave-sound, for $100 per 1 year. They are saying that I can fill in the form and register the domain names with them within 5 days, to ensure that (company x) does not take these domains and take the "internet brand name" shockwave-sound.
The way I see it, there are two possibilities: (1) This is a genuinely helpul company who want to help international domain owners make sure that their brands/domains are not registered to some dubious/competitive company who wants to "take" their domain names and their "internet brand name", OR, (2) this is a very sneaky ploy by a Domain Registration company to sell me .cn, .hk etc. domains, perhaps at a overblown price, that they they would not normally be able to sell to me because, well I just wouldn't normally be interested.
Does anyone have any comments or suggestions?
Labels: domain name registration, shockwave-sound.com